The area of the Chianti hills, also known as the Chianti Mountains, is an area more than 20 km wide, covering the provinces of Siena, Florence and a small part of Arezzo. The Chiana valley and the Valdarno mark the border of the Chianti region.

The highest mountain is San Michele of 893 meters, in the town of Greve in Chianti in the province of Florence.

Generally the land is hilly and the vines in this area are the ones called DOCG Chianti. Although the boundaries of the Chianti wine-screws are constantly discussed again, it remains unchangeable always been the area of the three provinces of Siena, Florence and Arezzo.

The municipalities of Radda, Castellina and Gaiole are considered historically the oldest of Chianti. Other locations added to the Chianti Classico subzone are: Castelnuovo Berardenga, Barberino Val d’Elsa, Greve in Chianti, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Poggibonsi and San Casciano Val di Pesa.

The Chianti area is jagged but geologically homogeneous, located south of the Apennines.

A small band extends to the north of the Mugello area, towards Pontassieve and Rufina. Then it follows the hills of Chianti, including the City of Cetona. Another wing is linked to Val di Pesa starting from Montalbano and continuing to Montalcino and San Gimignano.

The central Chianti area consists of a thick hilly system that includes the areas of Pisa, the Pistoia, Siena, Aretino and the Prato. Mount Luco and Badaccia Hills bordering the mountains of Chianti since ancient times, as evidenced by an ancient XIII century wrote.